#998 Resume Not Needed!

Standard

I remember writing my first ever resume. I was just entering my junior year of college and I was seeking an internship. A friend of mine helped me with the style and format. After writing it, I felt so accomplished. Even though I didn’t earn  the internship, the construction of my resume was a memorable experience for me. You see, once I read it back to myself, I finally was able to qualify all of my experiences (at least the monumental ones) on one document. I was called to reflect on my diverse experiences as a student, learner, employee, and community member. I didn’t end up getting the internship that I truly wanted, but the basis of that resume did eventually land me my first full-time teaching job. 

Fast forward to now. Now that we all live in this global world, connected by 140 characters on Twitter, updates on Facebook, and Skype-style interviews, is there still a place for that sacred piece of paper we call the resume? Or, when seeking top talent and branding our talents, should we rely on the digital resume to land our next career opportunity? I recently met someone who, through online branding, landed her first breakthrough in the entertainment world. Based on the content of her digital uploads and her following, she was recruited by a major entertainment company. And guess what? They didn’t ask her for a resume. 

At home, I often challenge my children with presenting their interests and knowledge through the creative lens of technology. At age 3 my son, Little El, completed his first Movenote report on his Star Wars reading collection, and we posted it on Twitter and Facebook. Now, let us think of classrooms in our k-12 schools in the United States. My son, who has yet to begin school has already embarked on his own digital profile; and I often wonder if his kindergarten teacher or pre-school teacher for that matter would have been prepared or willing to venture into his native land of technology and innovation (or allowed based on stringent curriculum implementation). If Little El is not greeted with a teacher who is ready to embark on such a journey of innovative teaching, I am sure Little El will become disengaged and perhaps even a discipline concern in the school. 

So, it’s more than just a resume. It’s about building a profile that will follow you everywhere you ever were to go! This profile should be current, relevant, targeted, and it should brand you as a professional.  Let us move away from “hiding” the technology from children and move to teaching our young people how to effectively use technology as a tool that will one day be their ticket into college and career readiness! Such would be a genuinely engaging activity! 

One thought on “#998 Resume Not Needed!

  1. I have to admit to having a love-hate relationship with technology. Yes it has enhanced my teaching and my ability to personally and professionally connect with others. However, the obession with technology being championed as the savior and champion in all battles I believe is quite short sighted. In the push to incorporate technology, my son spent kindergarten doing worksheets on a computer and learning from a “tv screen” as he called it. The only books in the classroom were considered to belong to the teacher. My son was only allowed to actually hold books once a week when he went to the library. I’d rather my children save their digital life and profile for when they get old enough to understand the complexities of the pandora’s box the internet opens. Do my kids know how to use an app or two on my phone? Yes. But it ends there for now. Schools need to reexamine what creates excellent critical thinkers, because te digital world around us requires it.

Leave a Reply

